Wednesday, August 25, 2010

Deleting Files Permanently



When you delete a file in your Windows PC it merely gets into the Recycle Bin and stays there, sometimes, we force delete it directly by using the Shift + Delete combination. I got some mails from people asking me about deleting files permanently without moving them to the recycle bin and this post will answer all those queries.






·         Right click the ‘Recycle Bin’ icon on your computer.

·         Choose the ‘Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted.’ Option.

·         Apply the settings


Though you delete them directly Windows keeps them on your Hard Disk and marks the space as free, so, if you are looking to permanently delete files from your hard-drive removing all evidences of their existence, you might want to try the following software:

Sure Delete:

This tool makes sure that your data is permanently deleted. Remember, that the files deleted with Sure Delete cannot be recovered, even with powerful tools such as Recuva.



 --
 Like our posts? Subscribe to PC Geek by Email