Tuesday, January 4, 2011

How To Use Selective Sync in Dropbox

The latest version of Dropbox includes a nifty feature called ‘Selective Sync’. It allows you to choose the folders which are to be synced to your computer while the rest stays only on the Dropbox cloud. This is very relevant for users with a low disk space. In this post, we’ll see how to get started with Selective Sync on Dropbox. Make sure that you have upgraded to the latest version, since Selective Sync is not available for versions older than 1.0.10.

  • Find the Dropbox icon in the system tray Dropbox Icon.
  • Right click on it and choose ‘Preferences’.
  • Now, go to the ‘Advanced’ tab in the Dropbox Preferences window and click ‘Selective Sync’.

Selective Sync on Dropbox

  • You will now be shown a window containing the list of files in Dropbox. Unchecking them will remove them from your PC, while they continue to stay on Dropbox’s servers.

Update: If you are looking to select the subfolders you will have to choose ‘Switch to Advanced View’ – I know, this is totally insane!

Tip: If you are looking to sync a file outside the Dropbox folder, download and use the Dropbox Folder Sync. (via Killer Tech Tips).